BTVi’s hosts The Auto Show Car India & Bike India Awards 2017

Car & Bike Awardees at the awards ceremonyThe Auto Show Car India & Bike India Awards 2017

India’s Biggest Auto Awards of 2017 recognizes automobile excellence that drives the Auto industry

Mumbai, February 10, 2017: BTVi – India’s premier English business news channel and Car India and Bike India presented India’s biggest auto awards – “The Auto Show Cars India and Bike India Awards 2017” today, in Mumbai. The awards were presented in the presence of Mr. Satish Sahastrabudhe, Additional Commissioner of Transport, Govt. of Maharashtra. The ceremony witnessed a spectacular culmination of a keenly contested auto battle in the company of elite personalities from the corporate world and auto industry.

Ms. Monica Tata, COO, BTVi, while speaking about the awards, said, “BTVi and Next Gen Publishing are delighted to honor the pioneers of automobile innovations. Our award categories cover the entire gamut of the auto industry and are a comprehensive representation of all areas of excellence. As a business news channel, we are proud to walk the extra mile to give our viewers an unbiased and credible understanding of various industries including the Indian Automotive sector, which has contributed enormously to the country’s economy over the last decade.”

A total of 35 awards were presented across two and four wheeler segments. In four wheeler segment, ‘Automobile of the Year’ was awarded to Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza, Maruti Suzuki India Ltd. won the ‘Automobile Manufacturer of the Year’ and Hyundai Motors India Ltd. won ‘CSR of the Year’. In the two wheeler segment, TVS Apache   won ‘Two wheeler of the year’ and Honda Motorcycle And Scooter India Pvt. Ltd. was awarded ‘Two Wheeler Manufacturer of the Year’. The list of award winners across all categories is mentioned below.

During the award show, BTVi unveiled the ‘#MissionNoEmission’ initiative in the presence of key influencers of the industry. Through this initiative, BTVi plans to engage key decision makers and viewers to take the pledge of ‘#MissionNoEmission’ for a greener tomorrow.  A line-up of content will also be created educating viewers towards making India cleaner and greener and engaging them to take up the pledge. The initiative will be amplified through 360 degree marketing campaign.

A special message was shared by Shri Nitin Gadkari, Minister for Road Transport and Highways congratulating the team for motivating the industry. Adding to this he states, that pollution is a major issue and he wants to import substitute cost effective and pollution free solution.  He also hopes to see more electric cars and scooters.

Speaking on the occasion, H S Billimoria, CEO, Next Gen Publishing Pvt. Ltd., said, “I am glad that over the last 11 years, the popularity of awards has gained national stature. The awards have always been a celebration of the best products of the year in the auto industry. We are overjoyed to be a part of this grand celebration. The best in league were selected by the jury on the basis of extensive & grueling track tests and a detailed methodology and process validation conducted by Mazars, our Knowledge Partner. This sets the standard for the Automotive Industry and honors the best-in class vehicles launched by the industry over the last one year.”

Every year, from 2006, this event honors and recognizes the best in the automotive industry across various categories and celebrates its achievements.

The jury panel comprised of experts like Sam Katgara (Former Rally Driver), Navaz Sandhu(Former Rally Driver), Rayomand Banajee (Rayo Racing), Siddharth Zarabi (Executive Editor, BTVi), Swati Khandelwal Jain (National Corporate Editor & Editor The Auto Show, BTVi), H S Billimoria (CEO, Next Gen Publishing Pvt. Ltd.), Aspi Bhathena (Editor, Bike India and Car India), Sarmad Kadiri (Executive Editor, Bike India and Car India) , Jim Gorde (Principal Correspondent, Bike India and Car India) and Cyrus Gazdar (Chairman & MD – AFL Pvt. Ltd.).

Watch The Auto Show Car India & Bike India Awards 2017 on BTVi on 16th February, 2017 at 10:30 PM

About BTVi –
BTVi, India’s premiere English business channel with unique access to newsmakers and research-based data, focuses on stories that affect markets and business. BTVi provides immediate perspective on critical business news as it happens and from where it happens. Backed by a team of enviable Indian journalists, we deliver the most credible insights to our viewers.

The core of the channel’s viewership is formed by influential leaders, business executive and opinion makers. Reuters, the world’s largest international multimedia news provider and BTVi have joined hands to bring financial and business news from across the globe to Indian viewers.

About Next Gen Publishing Pvt. Ltd.
Next Gen Publishing Pvt. Ltd. is a leading special interest magazine publisher in India, offering the finest in the field of print and digital publishing. They have a portfolio of 6 B2C titles, Car India, Mother & Baby India (both licensed from Bauer Media, UK), T3 India (licensed from Future Publishing, UK), Bike India, Smart Photography , Ideal Home & Garden set trends in their categories, they have also earned considerable critical acclaim. In order to engage with a new set of readers and enthusiasts, Next Gen operates state of the art websites for 6 of its publications, along with full fledged content apps. In addition Next Gen Publishing has three B2B magazines, Commercial Vehicle, Auto Components and Power Watch India. All the magazines (B2B and B2C) of Next Gen are also available on all major digital ezine platforms.

All these magazine brands have been successfully leveraged with associated awards – the Car India & Bike India Awards, Auto Components awards, the T3 India awards, the Smart Photography Awards and the Apollo CV Awards.

Automobile Winners
S. No. Category Winners
1 Compact Hatchback Of The Year Tata Tiago
2 Compact Sedan Of The Year Volkswagen Ameo
3 Sedan Of The Year Hyundai Elantra
4 Executive Sedan Of The Year Škoda Superb
5 Entry Level Luxury Car Of The Year Audi A4
6 Luxury Saloon Of The Year Volvo S90
7 Premium Luxury Saloon Of The Year Bmw 7 Series
8 Muv Of The Year Toyota Innova Crysta
9 Compact Suv Of The Year Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza
10 Suv Of The Year Hyundai Tucson
11 Luxury Suv Of The Year Mercedes-Benz Glc-Class
12 Premium Luxury Suv Of The Year Audi Q7
13 Performance Car Of The Year Audi R8
14 Motorsport Award Of The Year Mahindra Racing
Gaurav Gill For Mrf
15 Green Car Of The Year Honda Accord Hybrid
16 Variant Of The Year – Car Renault Kwid 1.0 Amt
17 Readers Winner Choice Of The Year – Car Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
18 Viewers Winner Choice Of The Year – Car Datsun Redi-Go
19 Automobile Manufacturer Of The Year Maruti Suzuki India Ltd.
20 Automobile Of The Year Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza
21 Design Of The Year Jaguar F-Pace
22 CSR Award Of The Year Hyundai Motor India Ltd.


Bike Award Winners
Sr. No. Category Nominees
1 Bike Of The Year Up To 110 Cc Yamaha Saluto Rx
2 Bike Of The Year Up To 200 Cc Tvs Apache Rtr 200
3 Bike Of The Year Up To 300 Cc Benelli Tnt 25
4 Bike Of The Year Up To 650 Cc Royal Enfield Himalayan
5 Bike Of The Year Up To 900 Cc Triumph Bonneville T100
6 Concept Of The Year Honda Navi
7 Scooter Of The Year Aprilia Sr 150
8 Bike Of The Year Up To 1000 Cc Ducati 959 Panigale
9 Cruiser Of The Year Above 1000 Cc Harley-Davidson 1200 Custom
10 Readers Winner Choice Of The Year – Bike Bajaj V 15
11 Viewers Winner Choice Of The Year – Bike Triumph Thruxton R
12 Variant Of The Year – Bike Suzuki Access 125
13 Two-Wheeler Manufacturer Of The Year Honda Motorcycle And Scooter India Pvt. Ltd.
14 Safety/Technology Of The Year Dainese D-Air
15 Two-Wheeler Of The Year Tvs Apache Rtr 200